This Made My Day

“A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty.” – Winston Churchill

I am an optimist. I know this because I try to look for the good in every situation, especially the bad ones. I look for that good because I believe that it is always there. Sometimes the good is hard to find and sometimes it presents itself as clear as a Carolina moon on a summer night. Why look for the good? It always overrides the bad.

After my unpleasant crash in July, I struggled to find the good in what had transpired. Not long after I received an email from a fire department captain in California. He had seen pictures from the crash on Facebook and wondered if he could borrow the broken helmet, and the story behind it, as part of a safety presentation for kids riding bikes. I quickly replied ‘yes’ in a desire to create some of the good that I was desperately searching for after crashing on my head. And then I promptly forgot about it.

IMG_2505

Until I received the following email yesterday:

Good morning Alder,
Hope you are having a great holiday season and enjoying a nice winter break from racing.
We had a very successful prevention and  education campaign that was highlighted by your helmet. It sent a very powerful message that cannot be expressed with words. Attached are the pictures we had made onto posters to “tell the story”. It worked. Great feedback from teachers, parents and kids. Seeing many more kids with lids riding around town.
Perhaps we can do this again next year. Thanks for the loan.
Have a merry Christmas and a great 2014 season!

Jason.

It made my day.

IMG_2490

If there are any more fire stations, school districts, bike rodeos, advertisements, or some other platform that need a prop to convey the importance of wearing a helmet please send me an email at alderdotmartzatgmaildotcom. If the story can cause just one more person to strap on a helmet, the good from crashing will easily outdistance everything else.

Screen Shot 2013-12-10 at 10.35.56 PM

2 thoughts on “This Made My Day

Leave a Reply

